The Scorpion Files has changed adress to:
Please update your bookmark/links!

New adress for the page you are trying to access is:
Go there for an updated version of the page!

Laurie, 1896

In a recent revision (Soleglad & Sissom, 2001), the family Scorpiopidae and the chactid genus Chactopsis were included into the Euscorpiidae. This was done after a very thorough phylogenetic analysis of the two families.

After the revision, this family now includes 11 genera and more than 50 species. Euscorpiidae are widespread in central and southern Europe, and also found in Africa (Mediterranean coast), North America (Mexico), Central America (Guatemala), South America (Brazil, Peru, Venezuela), Asia (west, central, south and southeast). One species has become established in some parts of southern England. The forefathers of these scorpions probably came with merchandise to the harbors, and have succeeded in surviving in sheltered places.

Some species of this family have been reported in captivity, especially members of the genus Euscorpius. Some members of the genus Scorpiops have been reported to occur in captivity, but many of these might be misidentified members of the scorpionid genus Heterometrus.

The members of the genus Euscorpius are under taxonomic investigations by professor Victor Fet and other scientists. Several important changes are expected, and these will be published in The Scorpion Files as soon as they are official.

Online identification key for the Euscorpius genus. The key includes most of the recently described species.

Euscorpiids are harmless scorpions which possess no threat to healthy humans.

Some habitat pictures for E. carpathicus in Italy.
Some habitat pictures for E. flavicaudis in England.

Soleglad, M. E. & Sissom, W. D. 2001: Phylogeny of the family Euscorpiidae Laurie, 1896: a major revision. 25-111. In V. Fet & P. A. Selden (eds.). Scorpions 2001. In memoriam Gary A. Polis. British Arachnological Society. Burnham Beeches, Bucks. xi + 404 pp.

Thanks to Dr. Victor Fet and Dr. Benjamin Gantenbein for keeping me updated on Euscorpius taxonomy!

Euscorpius flavicaudis photo (left) by Jan Ove Rein (C).
Scorpiops longimanus photo (right) by Dr. Wilson Lourenco (C) and
The Journal of Venomous Animals and Toxins/ CEVAP (C)

This list of genera and species is based on Fet et al.(2000) and Soleglad & Sissom, 2001. Subspecies is not included in the list. I try to update the list as additions and changes are published. * denotes changes after Fet et al. (2000). I will be grateful for information about new development in the taxonomy of this family. For information about synonyms and bibliographies, see Fet et al. (2000)

Alloscorpiops Vachon, 1980*
A. anthracinus (Simon, 1887)
A. lindstroemii (Thorell, 1889)
Chactopsis Kraepelin, 1912*
C. amazonica Lourenco & Francke, 1986
C. anduzei González-Sponga, 1982
C. barajuri González-Sponga, 1982
C. coriacea González-Sponga, 1991
C. insignis Kraepelin, 1912
C. siapaensis González-Sponga, 1991
C. sujirima González-Sponga, 1982
Dasyscorpiops Vachon, 1974*
D. grandjeani Vachon, 1974
Euscorpiops Vachon, 1980*
E. asthenurus (Pocock, 1900)
E. bhutanensis (Tikader & Bastawade, 1983)
E. binghamii (Pocock, 1893)
E. kaftani (Kovarík, 1993)
E. longimanus (Pocock, 1893)
E. montanus Karsch, 1879*
Euscorpius Thorell, 1876
E. alpha Caporiaco, 1950*
E. balearicus Caporiacco, 1950*
E. beroni Fet, 2000*
E. carpathicus (Linnaeus, 1767)
E. flavicaudis (DeGeer, 1778)
E. gamma Caporiaco, 1950*
E. germanus (C.L. Koch, 1837)
E. hadzii Caporiacco, 1950*
E. italicus (Herbst, 1800)
E. koschewnikowi Birula, 1900*
E. mingrelicus (Kessler, 1874)
E. naupliensis (C. L. Koch, 1837)*
E. tergestinus (C.L. Koch, 1837)
Megacormus Karsch, 1881
M. gertschi Díaz Najera, 1966
M. granosus (Gervais, 1843)
M. grubbsi Sissom, 1994
M. segmentatus Pocock, 1900
Neoscorpiops Vachon, 1980*
N. deccanensis (Tikader & Bastawade, 1983)
N. satarensis (Pocock, 1900)
N. tenuicauda (Pocock, 1894)
Paracorpiops Banks, 1928*
P. montanus Banks, 1928
Plesiochactas Pocock, 1900
P. dilutus (Karsch, 1881)
P. mitchelli Soleglad, 1976
Scorpiops Peters, 1861*
S. affinis Kraepelin, 1894
S. crassimanus Pocock, 1899
S. farkaci Kovarík, 1993
S. hardwickii (Gervais, 1843)
S. insculptus Pocock, 1900
S. irenae Kovarík, 1994
S. kraepelini Lourenco, 1998
S. leptochirus Pocock, 1893
S. lindbergi (Vachon, 1980)*
S. oligotrichus Fage, 1933
S. pachmarhicus Bastawade, 1992
S. petersii Pocock, 1893
S. rohtangensis Mani, 1959
S. tibetanus Hirst, 1911
Troglocormus Francke, 1981
T. ciego Francke, 1981
T. willis Francke, 1981

Jan Ove Rein (C) 2000