The Scorpion Files has changed adress to:
Please update your bookmark/links!

New adress for the page you are trying to access is:
Go there for an updated version of the page!

Pocock, 1893

This family consists of 11 genera and 131 species (until 1998). Most species have been described in recent times. There has been a lot of discussion about some of the genera and species in this family, and several genera have been transferred to other families. The members of this family are widespread in the Americas from Mexico into South America.

NEWS! Soleglad & Sissom, 2001 have transfered the genus Chactopsis to the family Euscorpiidae.

Scorpions in this family are rarely kept in captivity.

Chactid scorpions are not medically important.

Brotheas granulatus  photo by Dr. Wilson Lourenço (C) and The Journal of Venomous Animals and Toxins/CEVAP (C)

This list of genera and species is based on Fet et al.(2000). Subspecies is not included in the list. I try to update the list as additions and changes are published. * denotes changes after Fet et al. (2000). I will be grateful for information about new development in the taxonomy of this family. For information about synonyms and bibliographies, see Fet et al. (2000)

Broteochactas Pocock, 1893
B. bariensis González-Sponga, 1991
B. bilbaoi González-Sponga, 1978
B. brejo Lourenco, 1988
B. bruzuali González-Sponga, 1980
B. caroniensis González-Sponga, 1996
B. colombiensis González-Sponga, 1976
B. bariensis González-Sponga, 1991
B. delicatus (Karsch, 1879)
B. efreni González-Sponga, 1978
B. eliasilvai González-Sponga, 1980
B. fei Pinto-da-Rocha, Gasnier, Brescovit & Apolinario, 2002*
B. fravalae (Lourenco, 1983)
B. gaillardi (Lourenco, 1983)
B. garciai González-Sponga, 1978
B. gollmeri (Karsch, 1879)
B. goujei Vellard, 1932
B. granosus Pocock, 1900
B. guaiquinimensis González-Sponga, 1997
B. josemanueli González-Sponga, 1992
B. kelleri Lourenco, 1997
B. kjellesvigi González-Sponga, 1974
B. laui Kjellesvig-Waering, 1966
B. leoneli González-Sponga, 1978
B. mapuera Lourenco, 1988
B. neblinensis González-Sponga, 1991
B. nitidus Pocock, 1893
B. orinocensis Scorza, 1954
B. panarei González-Sponga, 1980
B. paoensis González-Sponga, 1996
B. parvulus Pocock, 1897
B. polisi Monod & Lourenco, 2001*
B. racenisi González-Sponga, 1975
B. riopinensis González-Sponga, 1992
B. sanmartini González-Sponga, 1974
B. santanai González-Sponga, 1978
B. sarisarinamensis González-Sponga, 1985
B. scorzai Dagert, 1957
B. simarawochensis González-Sponga, 1980
B. sissomi (Lourenco, 1983)
B. yekuanae González-Sponga, 1984
Brotheas C.L. Koch, 1837
B. amazonicus Lourenco, 1988
B. camposi González-Sponga, 1972
B. cataniapensis González-Sponga, 1997
B. cunucunumensis González-Sponga, 1984
B. dasilvai González-Sponga, 1978
B. gervaisii Pocock, 1893
B. granimanus Pocock, 1898
B. granulatus Simon, 1877
B. humboldti González-Sponga, 1980
B. jourdani Lourenco, 1997
B. libinallyi González-Sponga, 1978
B. lichyi González-Sponga, 1980
B. mawarinumensis González-Sponga, 1991
B. mingueti González-Sponga, 1973
B. munozi González-Sponga, 1997
B. overali Lourenco, 1988
B. paraensis Simon, 1880
B. perezramirezi González-Sponga, 1996
B. rionegroensis González-Sponga, 1996
B. sanabriai González-Sponga, 1997
B. silvestris Lourenco, 1988
B. wilmeri González-Sponga, 1980
Cayooca Gonzalez-Sponga, 1996
C. venezuelensis González-Sponga, 1996
Chactas Gervais, 1844
C. aequinoctialis (Karsch, 1879)
C. barbacoensis González-Sponga, 1987
C. barravierai Lourenco, 1997
C. brevicaudatus (Karsch, 1879)
C. brownelli Lourenco, 1997
C. camposi Mello-Leităo, 1939
C. choroniensis González-Sponga, 1978
C. chrysopus Pocock, 1893
C. exsul (Werner, 1939)
C. ferruginosus González-Sponga, 1984
C. gansi González-Sponga, 1974
C. gestroi Kraepelin, 1912
C. hauseri Lourenco, 1997
C. interpuncta González-Sponga, 1987
C. karschii Pocock, 1893
C. keyserlingii Pocock, 1893
C. laevipes (Karsch, 1879)
C. latuffi González-Sponga, 1976
C. lepturus Thorell, 1867
C. major Kraepelin, 1914*
C. mahnerti Lourenco, 1995
C. marinae González-Sponga, 1987
C. mauriesi Lourenco & Florez, 1990
C. ozendai Lourenco, 1999*
C. oxfordi González-Sponga, 1978
C. raymondhansorum Francke & Boos, 1986
C. reticulatus Kraepelin, 1912
C. rogelioi González-Sponga, 1972
C. rubrolineatus Simon, 1880
C. scabrimanus Kraepelin, 1912
C. setosus Kraepelin, 1912
C. simonii Pocock, 1893
C. vanbenedenii (Gervais, 1843)
C. yupai González-Sponga, 1994
Gyanochactas Lourengo, 1998
G. gonzalezspongai (Lourenco, 1983)
G. mascarenhasi (Lourenco, 1983)
Hadrurochactas Pocock, 1893
H. odoardoi González-Sponga, 1985
H. schaumii (Karsch, 1880)
Nullibrotheas Williams, 1974
N. allenii (Wood, 1863)
Taurepania Gonzalez-Sponga, 1978
T. manisapanensis González-Sponga, 1992
T. porosa (Pocock, 1900)
T. verneti González-Sponga, 1992
T. vestigialis González-Sponga, 1978
Teuthraustes Simon, 1878
T. adrianae González-Sponga, 1975
T. akananensis González-Sponga, 1984
T. amazonicus (Simon, 1880)
T. atramentarius Simon, 1878
T. carmelinae Scorza, 1954
T. dubius (Borelli, 1899)
T. festae (Borelli, 1899)
T. gervaisii (Pocock, 1893)
T. glaber Kraepelin, 1912
T. guerdouxi Lourenco, 1995
T. lisei Lourenco, 1994
T. lojanus (Pocock, 1900)
T. maturaca González-Sponga, 1991
T. oculatus Pocock, 1900
T. ohausi Kraepelin, 1912
T. reticulatus González-Sponga, 1991
T. rosenbergi (Pocock, 1898)
T. simonsi (Pocock, 1900)
T. whymperi (Pocock, 1893)
T. wittii (Kraepelin, 1896)
Vachoniochactas Gonzalez-Sponga, 1978
V. amazonicus González-Sponga, 1991
V. ashleeae Lourenco, 1994
V. lasallei (González-Sponga, 1978)

Jan Ove Rein (C) 2000