[Publication] Paper accepted in IET Networks

The paper « On the modeling of OpenFlow-based SDNs: the multiple node case » by Kashif Mahmood, Ameen Chilwan, Olav N. Østerbø and Michael Jarschel, has been accepted for publication in IET Networks.

2014/11/21 18:09

[Publication] Paper accepted at INFOCOM 2015

The paper "GEARSHIFT: Guaranteeing Availability Requirements in SLAs using Hybrid Fault Tolerance" by Andres J. Gonzalez, Bjarne E. Helvik, Prakriti Tiwari, Denis M. Becker and Otto J. Wittner has been accepted at IEEE INFOCOM 2015, (1,640 submissions, double-blind reviews, acceptance ratio 19%) The conference is held in Hong Kong 2015-04-26 -- 05-01.

2014/11/16 18:19

[Other] FP7 ALLEGRA summary - Task sharing and cooperation for the sustainability of the Internet

A summary of the ALLEGRA project is now available. Read more...

ALLEGRA was part of EU FP7 IP OpenLab and was completed earlier this year. The project was a collaboration between researchers from Budapest University of Technology and Economics and the Department of Telematics, through Gergely Biczók.

2014/11/13 17:58

[Publication] Paper accepted at TELFOR 2014

The paper « Joint balanced source and network coding » by Katina Kralevska, Harald Øverby and Danilo Gligoroski has been accepted for presentation at the 22nd Telecommunications Forum (TELFOR), to be held in Belgrade, Serbia, Nov 25-27, 2014.

2014/10/30 16:44

[Media] How prepared are electric power utilities against information security attacks? - Interview of Maria B. Line on

Maria B. Line's PhD work is about studying how Distribution System Operators (DSOs) in the power industry prepare for, and respond to, information security incidents in their IT and control systems. has interviewed her as she is about to leave to present the results of a recent study she conducted in collaboration with researchers at UCSB at the Smart Energy Grid Security Workshop (SEGS), to be held in Scottsdale, Arizona, USA, on Nov 7, 2014.

Read the interview... (in Norwegian)

2014/10/28 18:49

[Publication] Paper accepted at TELFOR 2014

The paper « Simulation of some new models of error-detecting codes » by Natasha Ilievska and Danilo Gligoroski has been accepted for presentation at the 22nd Telecommunications Forum (TELFOR), to be held in Belgrade, Serbia, Nov 25-27, 2014.

2014/10/27 15:08

[Award] FAPESP schorlarship to Katina Kralevska

Katina Kralevska has been granted a scholarship from the São Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP) to participate to the SP Coding and Information School (SPCodingSchool), to be arranged in January 2015 in São Paulo, Brazil.

2014/10/03 14:30

[Publication] Paper accepted at SSR 2014

The paper « Computationally analyzing the ISO 9798–2.4 authentication protocol » by Britta Hale and Colin Boyd has been accepted for presentation at the 1st International Conference on Research in Security Standardisation (SSR), to be held in London, UK, Dec 16-17, 2014.

2014/09/30 11:10

[Open position] Two PhD research fellowships within cloud computing (EU MC-ITN project CleanSky)

Position 1/ESR3 – Multi-criteria optimization for cloud computing eco-system

To ensure efficiency in cloud computing, it is crucial to explore fundamental resource allocation and optimization technologies to achieve best trade-off between implementation cost and cloud service quality. The objective of the project is to develop a multi-objective optimization framework for the optimization and consolidation of data center resources, taking different dimensions in mind (e.g., energy, storage, computation, application dependency, communication and associated costs) to bring down the costs while still meeting application requirements.
The specific tasks include (1) studying the characteristics of the key affecting factors such as energy, storage, computation, application dependency, and communication, (2) establishing the relationships between these factors, the cloud service performance and the cost, and (3) based on these relationships, applying optimization to obtain the best trade-off between cost and performance.

More information...

Position 2/ESR9 – Robust cloud service provisioning and management

When a telecom provider offers its own cloud services to its customers, it may federate cloud services from other providers. As such, there is a need for the telecom provider to compose services with reliable Service-Level Agreement (SLA) and to dynamically adjust (the subscription to) the underlying cloud services to maximize the revenue. The objective of the project is to develop results for provisioning and management of cloud services that are both robust and cost-efficient meeting service level agreement (SLA). The specific tasks include (1) Identifying the effect of service compositions and failures on SLA; (2) Proposing cloud composition strategies with maximal cost-efficient service availability; (3) Developing solutions for robust cloud service provisioning and management.

More information...

Contact: Prof. Yuming Jiang

Application form:

2014/09/26 17:54

[Publication] Paper accepted at RNDM 2014

The paper « Using genetic algorithms to improve the reliability of dual homed wireless critical services » by Eirik L. Følstad and Bjarne E. Helvik has been accepted for presentation at the 6th International Workshop on Reliable Networks Design and Modeling (RNDM), to be held in Barcelona, Spain, Nov 17-19, 2014.

2014/09/21 10:17